Professional Awards

 2018 SCASL Award Recipients



Ayanna Mayes
School Librarian of the Year
Heyward Gibbes Middle School
Richland District One
Sponsored by Follett





Cheryl Robinette
Library Paraprofessional of the Year
Edward P. Todd Elementary 
Spartanburg County
Sponsored by Follett 



Natalie Ashe

Margaret Ehrhardt Scholarship
York Comprehensive High School
York County
Sponsored by SCASL



Kelly Knight
*posthumously awarded*
Distinguished Service Award
Fork Shoals Elementary
Greenville County
Sponsored by SCASL


Mr. Michael McCracken
Administrator of the Year
Aynor High School, Horry County
Sponsonered by Follett





 Laura Haverkamp

Nancy Jane Day Scholarship
Dreher High School, Richland One
Sponsored by SCASL




Crystal Smith & Amy Whitfield
Blythewood High School
Oustanding School Library Program of the Year
Richland Two
Sponsored by Gumdrop




Awards Committee

Function: The Awards Committee promotes public awareness of the profession and its services and administers the awarding of the SCASL professional awards.  The committee disseminates to the membership relevant information concerning these awards, criteria, and deadlines.

ALL APPLICATIONS SHOULD BE POSTED ON GOOGLE DOCS AND SHARED WITH [email protected] BY Friday, December 1, 2017.  Questions can be emailed to Pamela Williams at [email protected]

2017-2018 Committee Members:

Chair:  Mrs. Pamela Williams, Columbia High School, Richland County School District One

[email protected]

[email protected]


Angela Durham, Oak Pointe Elementary School, Lexington/Richland District 5

[email protected]

Angie Enlow

Carolyn Gause

Jacqueline Rapp

Professional Awards:
Is your school library an integral part of your school? If so we would like to honor those who have helped make it happen! The SCASL Awards Program includes these awards and honors:

Outstanding School Library Program of the Year - honors an exemplary program demonstrating strength in the areas of Foundations, Building the Learning Environment, Teaching and Learning, Building Collaborative Partnerships, Advocacy and Outreach, and Leadership.  Sponsored by Gumdrop Books.

School Librarian of the Year – honors a full-time school librarian on the basis of exemplary programs as well as active participation and service to SCASL and other related organizations. Sponsored by Follett School Solutions.

Distinguished Service Award – recognizes an individual or an organization for contributions to SCASL and school media programs throughout the state of South Carolina.

Administrator of the Year – recognizes and thanks an exemplary administrator. Sponsored by East Educational.

Nancy Jane Day Scholarship – provides an SCASL member with reimbursement for the cost of one successfully completed college course taken to improve job performance or complete a graduate degree in library science.

Library Paraprofessional of the Year – The Media Paraprofessional Award recognizes the exemplary performance of a paraprofessional who directly supports the media profession either at the building or district level.

Margaret Ehrhardt Student Scholarship – provides a scholarship to a graduating media center volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution to South Carolina school librarianship, school library services, and/or SCASL.

SCASL Honor Roll nominees are recognized in the SCASL Messenger and the conference program. They will receive a certificate of merit, a monetary award, and a letter of commendation will be sent to their supervisor, superintendent or school board.

Composition: The Awards Committee is composed of a committee chair and members chosen by the chair.

Chairperson: The Awards Committee Chair is the School Librarian from one year previous to the calendar year.


- Promotes public awareness of the profession and its services.

- Handles the following recognitions that are presented by SCASL: School Librarian of the Year, Nancy Jane Day Award, Distinguished Service Award, Administrator of the Year Award, Margaret Ehrhardt Student Scholarship, and the Media Paraprofessional of the Year Award.

- Distributes relevant information concerning the awards of the membership and school administrators.

Updated: 8 November 2017