South Carolina Book Awards Committee


2023 JBA Committee

2022-2023 Book Award Handbook

Interested in joining a Book Award Committee?  Applications will open up in January, so please check back to apply.  

Function: The Book Award Committees are tasked with annually formulating the SCASL Book Award Program nominee book lists.

In order to accomplish this they must each read 100 - 250 titles each year and then discuss and evaluate those titles at regular meetings. The result is each year’s carefully selected reading list in each of four categories: Picture Book, Children's, Junior, and Young Adult.  Librarians, teachers, and students across the state of South Carolina owe these committee members a big vote of thanks!

Composition: The Book Award Committee has an Executive Board Representative/Chairperson and Vice-Chair to oversee all award levels as well as Chair and Vice Chair positions for each sub-committee (Picture, Children’s, Junior, and Young Adult).  Each of the Book Award Committees can be made up of a cross-section of media specialists, teachers, students, parents, administrators, public librarians, and college or university representatives.

Chairperson: The Book Award Committee Chairperson (Executive Board Representative) is selected by the SCASL President in consultation with the outgoing Chair.  Contact: [email protected]

2022-23 Chairperson:  Traci Nelson

2022-23 Vice Chair:  Elizabeth Harris 

2022-2023 Picture Book Award committee members:  Tiffany Anderson, Faith Barber, Kristine Britt, Calli Collins (Chair), Adelyn Cullum, Marianela Dieguez, Candice Godfrey, Mirian Hardy-Koverman, Jackie Harris, Jason Harris, Lynda JerniganRebecca McClinton, Layla Mckie, Mary Mouthaan, Leigh Ramey, Kimberly Rush, Joy Scaglione, Kristen Smith, Kelly Urtz, Karen Wimberly, Melanie Wyndham

2022-2023 Children's Book Award committee members: Deidre Ables, Christine Baker, Jennifer Beaver, Lessie Bernshouse, Suzanne Brookes, Katie Cantrell, Debbie Cooper, Alison Carpenter, Stephanie Foltz, Jennifer Gibson, Morgan Gibson, Casey Locke, Megan Michener, Lili Phillipsheck, Victoria Smith, Jessica Smoak, Shelby Snipes, Jill Tyner, Benjamin Young, Sarah Young (Chair), Pat Wilcox, Jessica Zannini 

2022-2023 Junior Book Award committee members: Hannah Benton, Joy Benton, Michelle Bridges, Lucy Mac Brown, Jenny Cox, Brittany Cuenin, Lillie Danysh, Ashley Dawkins, Ben Fulk, Heather Hillis, Rene'  Howell, Sarah Jorgenson, Caitlynn Langford, Cassondra Moore, Owen Gregory, Kellie Passarello, Cali Phillipsheck, Megan Ricard, Keri Reaney, Brenda Stephens (Chair), Julia Stone, Priscilla Summerford, Ann Tillman

2022-2023 Young Adult Book Award committee members:  Amanda Antonacci, Landon Barden, "Dani" Sophie Brauer, Lily Bryson Michelle Chase, Karen Gareis, Michelle Greene, Adalynn Hapeshis, Sarah Hubert, Lily Markalunas, Laura Matthews, Kelly McCarty, Sloan McKenna, Kim Miller, Eden Muller, Tiffany Paeschke, Amy Pittsenbarger, Samantha Porter, Tiffany Rickey, Alex Umsted, Mia Yancey, Stephanie Yancey (Chair)

Meetings: The Book Award Committees meet five times a year: May, August, October, December, and March (at the Annual Conference).  In addition to the general meeting at the Annual Conference, Committee members are expected to participate in their Committee's presentation session at Conference.

2023 - 2024 Meeting Dates:
  • May 13, 2023

  • August 5, 2023

  • October 7, 2023

  • December 2, 2023

  • March 2024 @ Conference

The Columbia area meetings start at 10:00 am and usually last for about 2 hours.

**In addition to the PBA, CBA, JBA, & YABA presentation sessions held at the SCASL Annual Conference, a general SCBA session is held for new/returning members and anyone interested in learning more about the book awards program.  

Duties: See the Book Awards Handbook for a complete list of duties and responsibilities for all levels and positions of the Book Award Committees.  A few of the duties/responsibilities for book award committee members include:
  • maintain current membership in SCASL
  • attend four Columbia-area meetings each year.
  • attend the SCASL conference, be present at the appropriate booktalk sessions, and work in the Book Award section of the conference store.
  • submit twelve book titles for the next year’s consideration list 
  • read the books on the list of books under consideration (between 100 – 250 titles depending upon the committee you serve) to narrow the list down to the top 20 best titles.
  • assist in the creation of an online activity guide and media for your committee's nominees.
  • present a booktalk for at least one book at the annual SCASL conference.

Last updated: 5 April 2023