2016 SCASL Award Recipients


Pam Ida

Pamela Williams
School Librarian of the Year
Columbia High School
Richland One
Sponsored by Follett

Ida Thomspon
Administrator of the Year
Director of Instructional Technology Services
Richland One
Sponsonered by Follett



Jennifer Gibson
Paraprofessional of the Year
North Central Middle and High
Kershaw County
Sponsored by Follett

Kathy Sutusky
Distinguished Service Award
Sponsored by SCASL
 Susan  lachania

Susan Altman
Nancy Jane Day Scholarship
Forest Heights Elementary School
Sponsored by SCASL

La'Chania Edwards
Margaret Ehrhardt Student Scholarship
Wagener-Salley Hight School
Sponsored by SCASL

Awards Committee

Function: The Awards Committee promotes public awareness of the profession and its services and administers the awarding of the SCASL professional awards.  The committee disseminates to the membership relevant information concerning these awards, criteria, and deadlines.


2016-2017 Committee Members:

Chair:  Dr. Charlene Zehner, Hanahan High School, Berkeley County

SLOY 2016-2017:

Pamela Williams, Columbia High School, Richland One

Committee Members

Ljubica Arceneaux

Irish Anderson

Anna Gail Carter

Helen Gildea

Amber Glessner

Randye Polk

Martha Taylor

Professional Awards:
Is your school library an integral part of your school? If so we would like to honor those who have helped make it happen! The SCASL Awards Program includes these awards and honors:

Outstanding School Library Program of the Year - honors an exemplary program demonstrating strength in the areas of Foundations, Building the Learning Environment, Teaching and Learning, Building Collaborative Partnerships, Advocacy and Outreach, and Leadership.  Sponsored by Gumdrop Books.

School Librarian of the Year – honors a full-time school librarian on the basis of exemplary programs as well as active participation and service to SCASL and other related organizations. Sponsored by Follett School Solutions.

Distinguished Service Award – recognizes an individual or an organization for contributions to SCASL and school media programs throughout the state of South Carolina.

Administrator of the Year – recognizes and thanks an exemplary administrator. Sponsored by East Educational.

Nancy Jane Day Scholarship – provides an SCASL member with reimbursement for the cost of one successfully completed college course taken to improve job performance or complete a graduate degree in library science.

Media Paraprofessional of the Year – The Media Paraprofessional Award recognizes the exemplary performance of a paraprofessional who directly supports the media profession either at the building or district level.

Margaret Ehrhardt Student Scholarship – provides a scholarship to a graduating media center volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution to South Carolina school librarianship, school library services, and/or SCASL.

SCASL Honor Roll nominees are recognized in the SCASL Messenger and the conference program. They will receive a certificate of merit, and a letter of commendation will be sent to their supervisor, superintendent or school board.

Composition: The Awards Committee is composed of a committee chair and members chosen by the chair.

Chairperson: The Awards Committee Chair is the School Librarian from one year previous to the calendar year.


- Promotes public awareness of the profession and its services.

- Handles the following recognitions that are presented by SCASL: School Librarian of the Year, Nancy Jane Day Award, Distinguished Service Award, Administrator of the Year Award, Margaret Ehrhardt Student Scholarship, and the Media Paraprofessional of the Year Award.

- Distributes relevant information concerning the awards of the membership and school administrators.

Updated: 22 February 2017