Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Function: The Board of Directors shall determine the policies of the organization, see that the objectives and guidelines defined by the bylaws are carried out, and hire salaried persons.

Composition: The Board of Directors shall be composed of the officers,  the Immediate Past President, Chairpersons of the following standing committees, Chairpersons of selections, Chairperson of the Regional Network, and Liaisons to the Board.  The Executive Secretary shall be a non-voting member of the Board of Directors.

Residency: All members of the Board of Directors shall reside and/or be employed in South Carolina and shall be active members of the Association.

Chairperson: The President shall serve as Chairperson of the Board of Directors.

Meetings: The Board of Directors shall meet a minimum of four times a year.  A board orientation shall be held annually.

Meeting dates for 2016-2017 are: September 24, 2016- SLIS (Davis College), November 12, 2016-Online-GoToMeeting, January 28, 2017 (Davis College), March 22, 2016 (Wed. of Conference), May 13, 2016 -Online- GoToMeeting.
Members are welcome to attend board meetings. Contact the president to obtain the specific location and time of the meetings. Some meetings are held online. 

Special Called Meetings:  Special meetings of the Board of Directors may be called by the President or by the Executive Committee, and shall be called upon the written request of three members of the Board.  Only the business specified in the notice shall be transacted.

Quorum:  A majority of the voting members of the Board of Directors shall constitute a quorum.

2016-17 Board of Directors:

Executive Committee: 




Cindy Symonds 


Cathy Nelson


Heather Thore


Gloria Coleman 

Immediate Past President 

Jennifer Tazerouti

Regional Network Director 

Elizabeth Bryant

Standing Committees: 




Sherry Shewmaker

Archives & History 

Ljubica Arceneaux


Charlene Zehner


Book Awards 

Camellia Harris


Angela Durham


Linda Waskow

Information Technology 

Julianne Kaye 

Intellectual Freedom 

Heather Loy 


Anne Lemieux 

Pre-Service Education 

Laura Linder

Public Awareness 

Deborah Palmer 

Standards & Guidelines 






Irish Anderson


 Kathy Sutusky 

Special Public/Independent 

Jennifer Falvey 


Diana Carr


SC DOE Representative 

Regina Thurmond 

SC Library Association 

Jenny Dilworth 


Karen Gavigan 

Presidential Advisor: 

Kathy Sutusky 

Executive Secretary: 

Diane Ervin 


SCASL Mailing Address:                                                                 
PO BOX 2442                                                  
Columbia, SC 29202                                        

SCASL Phone and Fax Number:                 
803 492-3025