Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Function: The Board of Directors shall determine the policies of the organization, see that the objectives and guidelines defined by the bylaws are carried out, and hire salaried persons.

Composition: The Board of Directors shall be composed of the officers,  the Immediate Past President, Chairpersons of the following standing committees, Chairpersons of selections, Chairperson of the Regional Network, and Liaisons to the Board.  The Executive Secretary shall be a non-voting member of the Board of Directors.

Residency: All members of the Board of Directors shall reside and/or be employed in South Carolina and shall be active members of the Association.

Chairperson: The President shall serve as Chairperson of the Board of Directors.

Meetings: The Board of Directors shall meet a minimum of four times a year.  A board orientation shall be held annually.

Meeting dates for 2016-2017 are: September 24, 2016- SLIS (Davis College), November 12, 2016-Online-GoToMeeting, January 28, 2017 (Davis College), March 22, 2016 (Wed. of Conference), May 13, 2016 -Online- GoToMeeting.
Members are welcome to attend board meetings. Contact the president to obtain the specific location and time of the meetings. Some meetings are held online. 

Special Called Meetings:  Special meetings of the Board of Directors may be called by the President or by the Executive Committee, and shall be called upon the written request of three members of the Board.  Only the business specified in the notice shall be transacted.

Quorum:  A majority of the voting members of the Board of Directors shall constitute a quorum.

2016-17 Board of Directors:

Executive Committee: 

 

 

President 

Cindy Symonds 

president@scasl.net 

President-Elect 

Cathy Nelson

president.elect@scasl.net

Secretary 

Heather Thore 

secretary@scasl.net

Treasurer 

Gloria Coleman 

glorysee@hotmail.com 

Immediate Past President 

Jennifer Tazerouti

tazerouti@gmail.com

Regional Network Director 

Elizabeth Bryant

regional.network@scasl.net

Standing Committees: 

 

 

Advocacy 

Sherry Shewmaker 

sherry.shewmaker@richlandone.org

Archives & History 

Ljubica Arceneaux 

ljubica.arceneaux@richlandone.org

Awards 

Charlene Zehner 

dru.zehner@gmail.com

 

Book Awards 

Camellia Harris

book.awards@scasl.net

Bylaws 

Angela Durham

 adurham@lexrich5.org

Editorial 

Linda Waskow 

lwaskow@centurylink.net

Information Technology 

Julianne Kaye 

kayej@apps.anderson1.org 

Intellectual Freedom 

Heather Loy 

hloy@mac.com 

Legislative 

Anne Lemieux 

lemieux.anne@gmail.com 

Pre-Service Education 

Laura Linder

LinderL@bcsdschools.net

Public Awareness 

Deborah Palmer 

Deborah_Palmer@charleston.k12.sc.us 

Standards & Guidelines 

OPEN
 

Sections: 

 

 

Paraprofessional 

Irish Anderson 

irish.anderson@richlandone.org

Retired  

 Kathy Sutusky

ksutusky@sc.rr.com 

Special Public/Independent 

Jennifer Falvey 

falveyj@heathwood.org 

Supervisors 

Diana Carr

diana.carr@richlandone.org

Liaisons:



SC DOE Representative 

Regina Thurmond 

rthurmond@ed.sc.gov 

SC Library Association 

Jenny Dilworth 

jdilworth@richlandlibrary.com 

USC-SLIS 

Karen Gavigan 

kgavigan@mailbox.sc.edu 

Presidential Advisor: 

Kathy Sutusky 

ksutusky@sc.rr.com 

Executive Secretary: 

Diane Ervin 

ervinscasl@gmail.com 

 

SCASL Mailing Address:                                                                 
PO BOX 2442                                                  
Columbia, SC 29202                                        

SCASL Phone and Fax Number:                 
803 492-3025